My Technology Journey in Education Begins

From the moment I entered my first year of preschool at age three, I knew I wanted to be a teacher.  I grew up holding on strong to this idea: playing “school” as a child, getting teachers’ advice for great undergrad programs and finally graduating from Northern Kentucky University with a B.A. in Secondary Education.  Life had gone exactly according to plan! 

And then reality hit.

The economy was down, teaching jobs were hard to come by, and I started wondering if I had made the right choice with my career goals as a three year old. Needless to say, panic mode set in and some serious soul searching began.

A couple years and jobs in higher education later, I realized secondary education was 
precisely where I belong.  That soul searching I mentioned earlier led me to realize my hobby and interests could turn into a career. So I began my M.A. in Education with a concentration in Instructional Computer Technology. I literally felt the weight of all my career worry and woes lifted from my shoulders.  I could rest easy again knowing I had a worthwhile goal to work toward.  

A few more months down the road, another opportunity came knocking at my door (or I went chasing after it, full speed ahead).  I accepted the Director of Educational Technology position at Archbishop McNicholas High School.  I can now say I feel truly blessed to go to work every day because I enjoy what I do: working with technology in education.  

So I decided to create a bLOG of ideas I have for the classroom, cool tips and tools I come across, seek some advice, and anything else that comes to mind. If you’re interested in technology in education too, I hope you’ll comment on my posts to share some ideas. 

Let’s take this journey together!

Tech to You Later!

Katie

Join the Conversation!

